Skip to content

Books I Read in 2013

January 1, 2014

I challenged myself to read 30 books last year, and I exceeded that goal by quite a few! I only read 28 books in 2012, so I thought 30 was a reasonable goal. I read 38, but two were reference books I read in planning our Disney vacation. I still read them, but I feel like that’s not quite the same as reading something with a plot.

Books I read in 2013:
1. The end of A Storm of Swords by George R.R. Martin
2. How to be a Woman by Caitlin Moran
3. My Boyfriend Wrote a Book About Me by Hilary Winston
4. Top of the Rock: Inside the Rise and Fall of Must See TV by Warren Littlefield
5. The Receptionist: An Education at THE NEW YORKER by Janet Groth
6. My Year with Eleanor by Noelle Hancock
7-9. Remember Me 1, 2 & 3 by Christopher Pike (rereads from the teen years)
10. Dog Sense by John Bradshaw (I only read half of this book)
11. Let’s Pretend This Never Happened: A Mostly True Memoir by Jenny Lawson
12. A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin
13. A Dance with Dragons by George R.R. Martin
14. The Unofficial Guide: Walt Disney World 2013 by Bob Sehlinger (in prep for our vacation)
15. The Hidden Magic of Walt Disney World by  Susan Veness (ditto)
16. The Night Circus by Erin Morgenstern
17. The Age of Miracles by Karen Thompson Walker
18. A Visit from the Goon Squad by Jennifer Egan
19. Girls in White Dresses by Jennifer Close
20. The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake by Aimee Bender
21. The Buddha in the Attic by Julie Otsuka
22. Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie
23-25. The Hunger Games, Catching Fire & Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins (rereads in anticipation of Catching Fire the movie)
26. The Golden Compass by Philip Pullman
27. The Interestings by Meg Wolitzer
28. Laura Lamont’s Life in Pictures by Emma Straub
29. Me Talk Pretty One Day by David Sedaris
30-32. Divergent, Insurgent & Allegiant by Veronica Roth
33. Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
34. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green
35. The Cranes Dance by Meg Howrey
36. The Smart One by Jennifer Close
37. The Spectacular Now by Tim Tharp
38. Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris
39. Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

I know the list says 39, but remember I only read the ending of A Storm of Swords (started it in 2012) and half of Dog Sense (it just wasn’t that interesting to read the whole thing. I skipped around a lot).

Standouts:

Life After Life Kate AtkinsonLife After Life
Might be in my top 5 books I’ve ever read. The plot was so interesting and the story was moving. I really love reading this and I was sad to see it go back to the library when I was finished.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

The Interestings Meg WolitzerThe Interestings
Another books I was sad to return to the library. I loved getting to know the characters as the story followed them throughout their lives from the teen years to the senior years. It was just about their friendships and how they lived, not much to tell about the plot, but the journey was incredible and personal and lovely.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Lemon Cake Aimee BenderThe Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake
Another lovely story. I’m just terrible at writing about books I loved. I don’t know how to express why I enjoyed a particular story. But this was a great read.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Disappointments:

The Night Circus
I think this one was the victim of too much hype. I was expecting something epic. I think I would have enjoyed it much more if I had gone in without having heard anything about it first. But even if I hadn’t, the book jacket misleads you in that respect as well. It was a perfectly good book, I just expected so much more.

The Divergent Series
This one suffered from a strong first book in the trilogy as the next two got progressively weaker. It had distinct YA problems — it would have been much stronger and more interesting without the love story trope that so many YA novels feel the need to include. I wanted to throw the second book across the room at several points when it got to the relationship parts of the plot.

The Receptionist: An Education at THE NEW YORKER
Another one with a lot of hype, and this one I can’t blame on expectations, I just flat out didn’t like it. I felt the main character (who was the author) was just terrible. Didn’t enjoy reading about her life at all.

Books I’m looking forward to reading in 2014:
The Book Thief
Goldfinch
Orange is the New Black
Reconstructing Amelia

I’m going to aim for 40 books this year. Wish me luck!

 

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

