Skip to content

Wedding Recap

November 16, 2012

We got our professional photos back, so it’s time for a wedding recap!

We seriously felt like we had the best wedding ever. I’m guessing most brides and grooms feel this way, and that’s a good thing! I loved seeing all the details we had lovingly planned all put together, and we just had a blast partying with our friends and family.

Our vendors were amazing, we can’t thank them enough. Most of the pictures below are from Paige Ozaroski Photography (unless otherwise noted) and we just love everything she did. The photos bring back all of our emotions from the day, which is exactly what they are supposed to do! The gorgeous flowers were by Flowers by Mary Elizabeth, and I didn’t think I could love flowers as much as I loved my bouquet and our centerpieces. Our delicious home-style food was from Brother’s Catering, and our DJ, who really did the most amazing job in getting the party going, was DJ Robert Sperring from Simply Elegant Wedding DJ, the dessert bar came from Cannon’s Cakes & Bakery, and last, the most important piece of our wedding puzzle, our beautiful venue was Historic Duportail House in Chesterbrook. The best venue/event manager ever was our contact there, Kate Frey.

We had our rehearsal dinner at our favorite restaurant, Winberie’s, and getting to spend a little extra time with our families and wedding party was great.

Walking back up the aisle at the rehearsal, photo by a friend

The next morning, after very, very little sleep, the bridesmaids and I all got ready in my hotel suite at the Embassy Suites Valley Forge. They were great in booking our room block and we also used their shuttle to get our guests safely to the venue and back again.

Hair was done by Kelly and Kirsten from Eskandalo, and if you are in the Rochester area and need your makeup done for any event, send me an email and I will put you in touch with our awesome makeup artist. She doesn’t have a website…yet!

Having a mimosa toast in our robes from plum pretty sugar. Photo settings by bridesmaid Jen May, button pressed by my mom : )

It was really nice getting to hang out with the girls that morning, sipping mimosas and getting pretty!

My customized dress hanger with our wedding date from Etsy. I chose the date instead of my married name because I want to hang it on the wall in our bedroom as a lovely reminder of our anniversary. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

My accessories — Something old (vintage 1920s earrings and clutch), new (Coach flip flops, pretty and comfortable!), borrowed (the blue cocktail ring, from one of my bridesmaids), and blue (my DIY garter as well as the cocktail ring). Also my wedding day perfume, Vera Wang’s Lovestruck. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Torin and I did something called a “first look” which is pretty popular these days and allowed us to get photos out of the way before the ceremony so we could spend more of the reception with our guests. I highly recommend a first look! It set us both at ease and it was great to feel like we had more time to party.

Our first look. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

We did lots of portraits and wedding party photos before the ceremony. We had a blast with our badass bridesmaids and groomsmen!

We had to recreate the poses from the Bridesmaids movie poster. Top Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Then the groomsmen got in on it! Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Portrait on the Duportail front porch, isn’t it beautiful? Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Our nearest and dearest friends. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

I love this serious, formal photo. This was about as formal and serious as we got all day! Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

One of my favorites of the two of us. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

We had originally wanted to go to Valley Forge National Park, which is right up the road from our venue, for photos, but we realized that we didn’t have to — Duportail had every setting we wanted! Trees, flowers, gorgeous historical home, bridge, gazebo… did I say it was the perfect venue yet?

Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Torin wrote the majority of our ceremony, and I loved it. It was personal, touching and funny, if I may brag about my husband’s writing skills for just a moment. : )

Walking down the aisle with my dad. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Everyone laughing at a part of the “Advice from Friends and Family” portion of the ceremony. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Then we were married and it was time to eat some food, drink some booze and dance the night away!

Our grand entrance as husband and wife. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

One of the two dining rooms. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

A bunch of our wedding ephemera. Photos © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Close up of a centerpiece. We used vases from my personal collection (and a few spray painted cans and bottles to fill it out and add visual interest) and I made the numbers with plain wooden house numbers and glitter paint. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Puzzles on the back of our ceremony programs. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Our rings on the masthead of Torin’s newspaper. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Our cutting cake, with my DIY cake topper and serving set (glittered handles from an Ikea set). Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Bridesmaid bouquet with vintage brooch. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

One of our favors – hand covered vintage books with handmade personalized bookmarks. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Duportail’s tent all lit up for a party! Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Dancing to a special song with my Grandpa – L-O-V-E by Nat King Cole. He always used to sing this when I was a little girl. Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Dance party! Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

Photo © Paige Ozaroski Photography

I have such a feeling of love and happiness when looking at these photos. I’m so lucky to be married to my best friend and to have so many loved ones in our life together! I couldn’t be happier.

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

