Skip to content

DIY Rhinestone Bride Tank

November 4, 2012

{This post was originally published on Going to the Chapel on September 3, 2012. I’m moving all (16, lame!) of those posts over to my regular blog, slowly but surely!}

I felt kind of meh about wearing one of those “Bride” tank tops that are so popular, but as I was browsing around Etsy one day I happened upon a tank that said “Wifey” on it, and I fell in love. I had to have that tank top! But I wasn’t going to pay $30 plus shipping for it, and I wasn’t going to pay $12 for the DIY iron on transfer either. I decided I could truly DIY it, and while I was at it I made a Bride version, a Just Married version, and Mrs. undies. I love them!

What I did:

  1. I went to Target to get tank tops, as I already knew I liked the style and fit of the ones they sell there. At $8 a pop the price is awesome too. I picked up three tank tops for my project for $24 total. (I already had the undies.)
  2. I then went to Michael’s for iron-on rhinestones. They come in a package like this, and they cost $3 each. I had a 15% off your total purchase coupon, so for this project, for three tanks and a set of underoos, I spent less than $32. Already happy right there
  3. Make a print out of the words or design you want to use. Cut it out to a manageable size and flip it over. Place it face down and then place the sheet of rhinestones on it, also face down. The rhinestones will already be face down on the sticky part of the package. I recommend doing this on a light box so you can see the words very clearly.
  4. Using tweezers, place the rhinestones, still face down, over the design. TIP: don’t bother trying to pick up the rhinestones on the sides. Half the time they will just flip out of the tweezers. You’ll be much happier and go much faster if you pick them up with a prong on the top and bottom instead, and just be gentle laying them into place. I made a handy dandy drawing to show you what I mean:
  5. Once you are finished tracing your design with rhinestones, trim off the excess plastic, carefully move it over onto the ironing board, lay the tank top right side down where you want it to be over the design, and follow the directions on the package to iron it on. Done! 
No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

