Skip to content

Flip-Flop Basket and Vintage Handkerchiefs

November 3, 2012

{This post was originally published on Going to the Chapel on September 2, 2012. I’m moving all (16, lame!) of those posts over to my regular blog, slowly but surely!}

I got it in my head pretty early that two adorable things I had seen on the internet, I needed to have at our wedding. The first is the flip-flop basket. This isn’t really too much of a DIY, though it’s more of a DIY than the Happy Tears Handkerchiefs.

First, I found the orchard basket on the side of the road, fixed it up and spray painted it gold. Have you noticed we went through a LOT of spray paint for this wedding?! Actually, truly first, I found all the flip flops at Old Navy’s clearance sale last fall. We wouldn’t have done this if I didn’t get all of these flip-flops for $1 or less.

Then I made the sign in the style of all the other text-based things at our wedding, with lots of fonts and lots of color.

And then, as I was de-tagging the flip-flops of their Old Navy tags, I stamped new, pretty tags with the size and tied them on using glittery twine. I found the tags on Etsy and made them special by using a border punch on the bottom edge. Then I stuffed everything in the basket, making sure the sizes hung out, and I was done! Pretty simple.

The second thing I had to have was something for Happy Tears or more commonly called Tears of Joy. I always cry at weddings, but I never remember tissues, so I thought this was a really cute idea. A lot of brides use the mini tissue packs with a custom label, but I was frequenting the vintage flea market in Philly at the time and decided to kick it up a notch with vintage handkerchiefs. I didn’t pay more than a $1 on any one hankie either, and many cost only a quarter, so this was a very cost effective project. Aren’t they pretty?

I used a metal basket I already had around the house and…yes, spray painted it gold! And sparkly!

What took the most effort with this project was hunting down the hankies, and then washing, drying, ironing and folding them. I tried many folding techniques before deciding on this shape, which worked the best for my basket. I also ironed them, folded them, and then pressed the iron down again so they would hold the fold. And that’s it! Gorgeous!

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

