Skip to content

Vendors – Check!

October 27, 2012

{This post was originally published on Going to the Chapel on February 7, 2012. I’m moving all (16, lame!) of those posts over to my regular blog, slowly but surely!}

On Friday, we booked our florist. Mary McVeigh from Flowers by Mary Elizabeth was great when I met with her. She was totally on board with my ideas, completely understood my vision, and was even ok with using my vast collection of vases for the centerpieces. She didn’t try to steer me towards more expensive flowers, and she didn’t have a problem with the possibility of removing some items down the road (like boutonnieres, which Torin isn’t sure he wants yet). Very flexible and friendly, and I’m super excited to work with her!

We also made our caterer decision, and we go in for  a tasting and to sign a contract next Thursday. We got cake samples and did cake tasting at home, so I’m super excited for our first “big” tasting. And probably our last, but still, it’s very exciting! We are still working on our menu, but we are decided at least on the entrees, which will include built-to-order chicken quesadillas, build-your-own tacos with pulled chicken, sauteed tilapia and vegetarian chili as options, and mini beef sliders with a toppings bar. Also a cesar and garden salad on the side, as well as rice and beans. We just can’t decide on a couple of more sides or hot hors d’oeuvres to compliment those items.

All of our vendors are booked! We’ve had a photographer from the beginning, thanks to a friend of Torin’s who does great work and offered us her services at a discount. We booked our DJ right away, and he was very easy going and really put my mind at ease about the whole day (he’ll be handling our ceremony music as well, and has no problem getting set up to be heard in our somewhat unconventional venue that’s split over three rooms). I knew what I wanted for our bakery since before I even met Torin, a place in Delaware whose cakes we ordered for every birthday and graduation and special event. After some great customer service and a box of free cupcakes, Torin and his parents tasted them and gave me the thumb’s up! I knew they would. A friend of a friend is booked to do makeup for me and any of my bridesmaids that want it. And after much frustration and searching, we finally asked a friend to be our officiant, and he agreed! I couldn’t be more excited about that part of our day now. 221 days to go, and I feel great! DIY projects, here I come!

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

