Skip to content

Wedding Planning Shifts Into High Gear… Now!

December 7, 2011

We have finally picked our location and date. And I finally feel like we are actually getting married, instead of just pretending! We chose the DuPortail House in Chesterbrook, PA, and it’s beautiful. Here are a few of my favorite photos from their facebook page.

This is the front of the house. I love the gorgeous iron work on the porch:

This is the gazebo that we think we want to hold the ceremony in front of, and it also shows how nice and wooded the area is, something I really wanted:

Here is the side of the building, where they have a tent set up during the high season. This tent is likely where we’ll have our dancing:

Isn’t this shot gorgeous?

So, needless to say, we are very happy and very excited to get married here! It’s just a really lovely space that has everything I wanted (trees, greenery, outside ceremony space, water) plus a few bonuses (historical setting, lovely detailing, cozy and intimate).

Now I get to move on to some of the fun stuff, like my dress, invites, the overall look and feel of the event, flowers, favors, etc., etc., before we move on to more not so fun stuff, like paying the invoices and figuring out seating charts!

Here are some of my inspiration photos so far.

I really want to find some fabulous shoes because I’m leaning towards a simpler style of dress. These are amazing:

via Belle of the Ball

I love this flower arrangement, though I know it will be too expensive for us. But inspiration is inspiration nonetheless!

via a little sussy

If we can find some games at thrift stores, I’ll definitely be doing this set up, because not everyone like to get low on the dance floor:

via Martha Stewart Weddings

I have lots of other ideas of course, but a bride’s gotta have some surprises at her wedding right?! Next thing I’ll be crossing off the list is Save the Dates. Look for one in a mailbox near you in January!

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

