Skip to content

Sumo Cucumber Collins

June 14, 2011

As I already mentioned, I tried out a new drink recipe last week, and I think drink recipes totally count as new recipes, so on the blog it goes!

Adapted from this recipe:

Sumo Cucumber Collins

7 slices of cucumber, peeled and sliced as thinly as possible
2 ounces fresh lemon juice (about 1 lemon)
1 ounce simple syrup
3 ounces gin
6-10 ounces club soda or seltzer water
ice
cucumber and/or lemon slices, for garnish
mint sprig, for garnish

This recipe made two drinks for me.

Slice your cucumber very thin. Muddle in a cocktail shaker. Add the lemon juice, gin and simple syrup. Shake. (Notice I didn’t say ice. When a drink is going to be served over ice, as this one is, I don’t like to further water down my drink by shaking it with ice as well. The ice in the glass will get it plenty cool!) Strain about half into a pint glass filled with ice. Top off with club soda, give a light stir, garnish if you’re feeling fancy and enjoy!

A note: I used Tanqueray Rangpur gin, because that’s what I had on hand. This is a gin that uses the Rangpur lime in the distilling process, an important difference from infusion (used in flavored vodkas), which gives a stronger flavor of whatever is being used. Wikipedia tells me that Rangpur limes are actually a hybrid between the mandarin orange and lemon and is really not similar to a lime at all except in that it is highly acidic. As far as I could tell, this gin just tasted a bit lighter on the standard juniper flavor to me. Very refreshing and perfect for this cocktail. Try it!

My ingredients: lemon juice, Tanqueray Rangpur, simple syrup, cucumbers, mint sprig (oops, forgot the seltzer!)

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

