Skip to content

Don’t Fear the Dowager and Other Awesome Reads

June 9, 2011

Haven’t done this in awhile! Here are the awesome things I’ve read recently.

“Don’t Fear the Dowager” by Julie Klausner YES. Ladies. This. Act like the grown woman that you are! (Also, read that bird article too.)

There’s so much ukulele playing now, it’s deafening. So much cotton candy, so many bunny rabbits and whoopie pies and craft fairs and kitten emphera, and grown women wearing converse sneakers with mini skirts. So many fucking birds.

“Just don’t call me a tramp. It confuses my mother.” by The Trephine The writing style of this piece touched me more than anything else, but I feel she raises some interesting ideas. I won’t be getting rid of all of my things anytime soon, but I like the motivations behind her process.

You become almost the only particularly notable thing you own, and experimenting with rearranging a bookshelf into a rainbow pattern, it turns out, is far easier than experimenting with rearranging oneself. Where does one even begin?

“My Middle Name” by Jim Lin of The Busy Dad Blog My best friend in fourth and fifth grades was Chinese-American. This story made me think of her and how much I liked going to her house because it was so different from my house, and it made me tear up, wondering if she felt that being different made her an outsider too. At that age we didn’t talk about stuff like that, and I have no idea where she is now.

I was riding the school bus home one afternoon and grateful that I might make it through the day free of being teased. Two more stops. As I sat there, not really looking at anything or anyone, my gaze met Lenny’s, one of the only Black kids in my town. We hesitated for a moment.

“I thought they’d be my Golden Girls” by Suburban Bliss I don’t necessarily relate to Melissa’s specific troubles, but I certainly relate to how difficult maintaing friendships can be as an adult. It’s harder than I ever thought it would be. I look forward to checking out a lot of the book suggestions she mentions in her follow up post.

With friendships I just don’t want to cry about them, I don’t want to give more than I get, I don’t want to be treated in a way I wouldn’t treat another person, I want to not feel the need to bitch about that person behind their back and I don’t want them to bitch about me either…I don’t want to book a therapy session or four to figure out how to make “us” work.

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

