Skip to content

#49 – Strawberry Picking

May 23, 2011

The first strawberry

We took a visit to Linvilla Orchards on Saturday and went strawberry picking. We couldn’t have ‘picked’ (I crack myself up) a better day, as the weather was gorgeous and warm, unlike the rest of the week. There is something really fun about strawberry picking because, as the bf said, it’s like a game. You have to crouch and hunt and move leaves aside to find them and examine each berry for ripeness. Finding the perfect berry feels like winning, and you get to win so many times! It’s awesome.

With our haul of gorgeous red berries I made shortcakes for strawberry shortcakes and also tried out a new recipe (for #86) for strawberry scones. I used the recipe from Confessions of a Tart. I followed it exactly, except I doubled it because I had so many strawberries to use up! They didn’t seem very scone-like at first, and my dough was much too wet to cut into triangles which is why I went with circles, but this morning they definitely had more of a scone-like texture (fresh out of the oven they were more like muffins). I actually would use even more strawberries if I make these again! They are very yummy as is too.

Strawberry Shortcake with homemade whipped cream

Scone Dough

Finished Scone

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

