Skip to content

#86 – Portuguese Fisherman’s Stew

May 18, 2011

A couple of weeks ago, we had good friends over for dinner…really good friends, because they let me try out a new recipe on them and then complimented it more than it deserved! It wasn’t bad, but I think it definitely needs a few tweaks. I’ll give you the recipe as I made it, and then note my suggestions for improvements.

Portuguese Fisherman’s Stew

1/2 lb. each of shrimp, squid, scallops, cod, and linguiça (I used an Andouille-style chicken sausage, found at Trader Joe’s)
2 medium to large Spanish onions, finely chopped
8-10 large cloves of garlic, minced
4 packets of Goya Azafran seasoning
24 ounces of beer or white wine (I used both, Harp and Pinot Grigio)
1/2 cup olive oil
1 stick of unsalted butter
1/2-1 cup frozen peas
3 tablespoons fresh parsley, finely chopped
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon ground pepper
1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper, optional
Cooked white rice (about 4 cups for this recipe)

Melt the butter and oil together over medium heat in a large, heavy pot (I used my dutch oven). Add the onion and cook 5-6 minutes, then add the garlic, Azafran, salt, pepper and cayenne and cook a few minutes more.

Pour your liquids (beer and/or wine) into the pot and bring to a boil. Add your seafood and sausage and cook for about 10 minutes, until all the meat is cooked through (your shrimp should be curled up and pink, cod, scallops and squid opaque). In the last few minutes of cooking, add the peas and parsley. Serve over rice.

And here’s what I would do differently. There was too much fat, so I would cut down on both the oil and the butter. Just enough to cook the onions is what you need. I’d start with a 1/2 stick of butter and add more if needed as the onions are cooking. It was a little bland, so I would add two more packets of Azafran (they are small) and more salt and pepper. I would also serve some bread on the side for sopping up extra sauce.

Our complete meal included manchego and beer-washed cheeses with baguette and garlicky dipping oil to start, an arugula salad with pears, red onion, parmesan cheese and lemon vinaigrette, vinho verde to keep with the Spanish theme (2009 Aveleda Fonte, it was delicious and I recommend), and finished with a yummy chocolate mousse cake provided by our guests. It was a great night and my only regret is not taking any pictures! I can’t wait to do it again.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 18, 2011 11:35 am

    1. This dish was TOTALLY delish. You can quote me.
    2. I have pictures! Sadly, not of the actual food. But of the baby playing with the kitties. I’ll e-mail them to you.
    3. I’m starving. This is what I get for reading your recipe around lunch time 🙂

  2. May 20, 2011 7:09 am

    Wow! This looks divine! I’m totally going to try this!

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

