Skip to content

#86 – Cajun Salmon with Cheesy Grits

April 18, 2011

From pre-vacation, I just never scheduled this to publish. Doh!

This was an easy one — it’s really the grits that are the recipe, and one I’d been wanting to try for awhile. The bf felt they were a little too cheesy, whereas I, the cheesemonger, thought they were delicious. They do have a bit of a kick too, so consider reducing the amount of cayenne pepper if you don’t like spicy foods.

For the salmon: Sprinkle liberally with jerk seasoning (a to-taste combination of onion powder, allspice, black pepper, cinnamon, red pepper flakes, salt and thyme. I get mine pre-mixed).

Sear the top of the salmon in a very hot, non non-stick pan. (What do you call that? Just a pan?)

Bake at 450ºF until the salmon reaches an internal temperature of 120ºF. I seriously never time my meat, I only use a thermometer, so I have no idea how long this would be. If you don’t have a meat thermometer, get one. It will change your life. Ikea sells the one I use for like $5.

For the grits:

  • 2 cups milks
  • 2 cups water
  • 1 cup quick-cooking grits
  • 1/2 cup sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1/4 cup parmesan cheese
  • 2 teaspoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 teaspoon seasoned salt
  • 1 teaspoon garlic powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon cayenne pepper

Heat 2 cups of milk and 2 cups of water in a saucepan. Once bubbling around the edges (be careful not to burn the milk) add 1 cup quick cooking grits, 1 teaspoon seasoned salt and 1 teaspoon garlic powder, and whisk thoroughly. Keep coming back to whisk this every few minutes or you’ll get lumps.

After about 10 minutes, when the liquid is just about fully absorbed into the grits, add the cheeses, Worcestershire sauce, and the cayenne pepper. Stir until the cheese is fully melted and incorporated and serve.

For the green beans: I’m lazy. I buy pre-washed, pre-trimmed green beans in a self steam bag which I do not use to steam them in. I also like this particular brand because it’s the perfect amount for two people.

I heat some olive oil in a non-stick pan, then brown some minced garlic and sea salt. Adjust to your level of love of garlic. I use about 4-5 largish cloves.

Add the green beans, stir to coat with the garlic salt mixture and cook until heated through. Serve!

Verdict: Good. I’d make this again. I might try a less sharp cheddar next time to accommodate the bf’s indifference to cheese. I make the green beans this way all the time and I could seriously eat the whole bag by myself if left to my own devices. The trick is salting the garlic and oil, that way it really gets in there and seasons the beans well instead of just falling off because you added the salt to the beans instead.

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

