Skip to content

#40 – Host Christmas Dinner

January 21, 2011

 

Our Christmas Tree

On Christmas Eve 2010 (the day my family traditionally eats Christmas dinner) I had over the bf’s entire family plus my dad and grandmother for a holiday meal and it went pretty great! It was the first time my family and his family were meeting and the evening was full of conversation and laughing. I made (read: heated) a ham that my dad got for free, mashed potatoes, garlic green beans sauteed with onions, buttermilk biscuits and Martha Stewart’s Triple Chocolate Peppermint Trifle. That dessert is definitely one of the most fancy and most delicious desserts I’ve ever made, even though I totally Semi-Homemade it up by using Jello Instant Chocolate pudding and Betty Crocker chocolate cake mix instead of making those things from scratch. I like both of those things separately, so I figured they’d taste just fine mixed in with a bunch of other ingredients! I did make the mousse, whipped cream and syrup though, and it was all pretty easy. I added peppermint extract to the whipped cream because I didn’t think the peppermint candies in the mousse were going to give it enough flavor. It was delicious, if I do say so myself, and I highly recommend you try it out!

Image from marthastewart.com

I used pepper berries and baby’s breath as a centerpiece. I just love baby’s breath all on it’s own, it’s so ethereal and dreamy looking. I only wish I had taken better photos!

Centerpieces

I hope you had a lovely Christmas as well!

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

