Skip to content

Favorite Christmas Movies

December 14, 2010

Notice anything special on All I Wanna Do today? It’s snowing! Thank you WordPress, for this awesome little holiday extra.

Now, inspired by my friend Missy’s recent facebook status asking for Christmas movie suggestions, here are the ones I suggested to her (rudely commandeering her entire status with my 40 suggestions!) in handy list form. Plus a few more I thought of later and a couple of special mentions at the end!

Some of these are traditional Christmas films, some are films that take place at Christmastime, and others just feel like Christmas to me. What are your favorite movies to watch during the holidays?

  1. A Christmas Story
  2. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation
  3. Meet Me in St. Louis
  4. It’s a Wonderful Life
  5. White Christmas
  6. The Family Stone
  7. Love Actually
  8. Elf
  9. Charlie Brown Christmas
  10. Mickey’s Christmas Carol
  11. How the Grinch Stole Christmas (Animated & Live Action)
  12. Miracle on 34th Street (I like both version, but I have to say that the remake’s use of the dollar bill instead of the post office to prove Santa’s existence just seemed better to me. Plus I just love all the actors in the remake, especially Richard Attenborough.)
  13. Holiday Inn
  14. A Christmas Carol (I like the Patrick Stewart version)
  15. Scrooged
  16. The Muppet Family Christmas
  17. Rudolph the Red-Nosed Reindeer
  18. Frosty the Snowman
  19. The Year without a Santa Claus
  20. Home Alone
  21. The Santa Clause
  22. Babes in Toyland (the Annette Funicello version)
  23. The Nutcracker (the Pacific Northwest Ballet version)
  24. Bad Santa
  25. The Shop Around the Corner
  26. Prancer
  27. The Holiday
  28. Die Hard
  29. Lethal Weapon
  30. The Nativity Story
  31. Garfield Christmas
  32. Three Days (This is an ABC Family made-for-tv movie starring Kristin Davis and Tim Meadows. I love it!)
  33. Gremlins
  34. Edward Scissorhands
  35. Little Women
  36. Serendipity
  37. The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe
  38. The Ref
  39. Trading Places
  40. Four Christmases
  41. Fred Claus
  42. Santa Claus Conquers the Martians — for my friend Brad, who touts this movie to anyone who asks for a Christmas recommendation! It also gets a special mention in the documentary I mention below.
  43. Hollywood Christmas — recommended by the Missy who inspired this post, a documentary of Christmas in Hollywood films. It’s pretty awesome, and available on Netflix Instant. The part about Christmas during World War II will bring tears to your eyes.
One Comment leave one →
  1. December 14, 2010 4:39 pm

    I can’t believe you put Die Hard at 28! 28!!! It’s def my #1…. but I’m sure you knew that already. lol

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

