Skip to content

#14 – Week Twenty-two Plus a Few More

December 3, 2010

Last week was overly emotional and sappy, so here are five fragmented reasons to be thankful this week:

  1. Wine
  2. The New York Times’ 100 Notable Books of 2010
  3. Pumpkin Ice Cream
  4. Kittens that sleep under the Christmas tree like adorable, furry presents
  5. Christmas shopping 90% finished before the first weekend in December.

Boom.

 

There are also several things that I’ve decided I’m probably never going to blog about separately, no matter how good my intentions, so here they are in abbreviated form.

#42 Bake a pie from scratch – Completed! I made an apple pie with a cheddar cheese crust from this recipe. Making the crust in the food processor made it super easy and the savory crust paired with the sweet filling was delicious and I will definitely make it again.

#9 Try 50 different kinds of alcohols/liquors. I’ve tried Gnarly Head Old Vine Zin, Wily Jack Zinfandel, Tenure Espresso Vodka, and Casillero del Diablo Carmenere from Chile. Al the wines were good, I’d drink them again if offered but I’m not adding any of them to my favorites list either. The espresso vodka, on the other hand, is delicious. I’ve tried it in hot chocolate, on it’s own, and in a quicker version of a White Russian (just add milk!). All were yummy and I’ll definitely search this out again when I’m finished with this bottle.

#49 We went apple-picking waaay back in the beginning of October, and I don’t think I ever noted it. We missed pumpkin-picking this year, mostly because the only place we know of to do it is completely overrun with tiny, screaming animals most of the time. I’m hoping for a day trip somewhere out of PA in the summer where we can do berry-picking.

#10 and #95 (Maintain a healthy body weight and increase upper body strength) have stalled considerably. It started when we opened up the Etsy shop again and I was too busy to work out. Then I got a bad case of bronchitis a couple of months ago and couldn’t work out because my asthma flared up badly. And then it just got easier to not work out. I like coming home from work and watching a movie and having a glass of wine instead of running. Lazy, but true. I really need to get this under control soon. As hard as it is to be disciplined and eat well (ahem, Thanksgiving leftovers are pure evil) I feel so much better about myself when I’m fitting into my size 4 jeans instead of my size 10 jeans. It was extremely painful to just type that digit…10. Ugh. Christmas treats are not going to help this situation.

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

