Skip to content

FURIOUSLY HAPPY

October 7, 2010

I haven’t decided if I’ll post what I’ve written on the various tragedies overwhelming my life since January of 2009, but I recently came across this blog post by the amazing Bloggess, and it finally put a name to what I’ve been practicing. FURIOUSLY HAPPY. It means the universe seems to be trying to fuck you over, but you don’t care. You’re going to be happy anyway goddammit. That’s 98% of what my 101 list is about. Finding ways to distract myself from sad thoughts and being a productive, creative, loving, FURIOUSLY HAPPY human being. And you know what? It’s totally working. Instead of coming home from work and spending weekends as a couch zombie, feeling depressed about my life and the things that make it sad, I can do something for myself, even in a small way. I can knit a baby beanie for a friend. I can research volunteer opportunities. I can plant herbs and try new recipes. I can do all of these things anyway, I realize, but having them written down makes me more motivated. And trust me, I still watch tons of tv, but because I enjoy certain shows, not because I don’t have anything else to do. I haven’t watched an all-day America’s Next Top Model marathon on VH1 since I wrote the list. And that, my friends, is awesome.

The five stages of grief are denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance. If it weren’t for my wonderful bf (yeah yeah, barf, but it’s true) and my list (the creation of which I will attribute to my sheer force of will to be FURIOUSLY HAPPY), I’d still be wallowing in depression. Acceptance is a joy. Smile!

This commercial makes me laugh every time:
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Beth permalink
    November 2, 2010 12:59 pm

    So glad you found a way to overcome life’s issues and be happy. Very proud of you!

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention FURIOUSLY HAPPY « All I Wanna Do -- Topsy.com
  2. A Very Special #14 « All I Wanna Do

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

