Skip to content

#55 & #58 – Give a Handmade Gift

October 6, 2010

And knit or crochet something with a more complicated shape than “rectangle”. I combined these two into one, for a baby beanie for our friends’ new addition, Elizabeth Quinn (isn’t that such a pretty name? I love the mix of traditional and modern.)

The pattern I used was really easy, and I modified it to be a a little smaller (it still turned out a little big, but babies grow fast) and to give the edge a pretty ruffle trim since it’s for a baby girl. I used a super soft bamboo yarn in a wintery silver-green color. I also added the flower embellishment (make it separately and then sew it on). I tried many different flower patterns, and eventually did one from this book and added a single popcorn stitch for the center puff. By the way, the Teach Yourself Visually books are amazing. I already knew the basics for how to knit and crochet, but these are great for learning new stitches and techniques and refreshers on things I already know. The series has books for computer programs, hand crafts, needle crafts, games, sports and even instruments. Awesome!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sarah Garber permalink
    October 6, 2010 11:23 am

    Very cute! I’m proud of you.

  2. December 22, 2010 9:55 am

    I’m a little late in replying, but we absolutely LOVE this hat! Lizzy loves wearing it 🙂 We took her to get portraits taken and we have a few pictures of her posing in just her hat; you’ll have to see them the next time you’re here!

    Thanks so much again for the lovely gift! You’re truly amazing in your craft skills 🙂

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

