Skip to content

#14 – Week Thirteen (plus an easy dinner recipe)

September 30, 2010

Five fierce reasons to be alive this week:

  1. My cousin is getting married on Saturday! I can’t wait to see all the family and dance all night.
  2. Halloween season is here tomorrow! I have a costume idea, a jack-o-lantern idea and I can’t wait to decorate.
  3. Photography class is going well. I’m having fun playing around with the manual settings again…I forgot all the cool things you can do!
  4. The bf got to work daytime hours again this week AND he has Saturday off for the wedding…people who see their significant other every day might not think this is so momentous, but when you usually only see them for about 20 hours a week (I estimate that people with regular, 9-5, M-F jobs see their partner more than 50 hours a week) it makes a big difference!
  5. More nights with the bf means more cooking! Stuffed peppers is one of my favorites, and you can stuff them lots of different ways. I usually do a mexican-style stuffing, with chicken, rice, veggies and enchilada sauce. This time I did Italian, and it was really good so I thought I’d share:

Quick & Easy Italian Stuffed Peppers

Ingredients:

  • 4 bell peppers, any color (I used yellow — a good compromise between green and red.)
  • 1 lb. ground beef, chicken or turkey (I used turkey in this recipe.)
  • 3/4 cup uncooked, long-grain rice (I used basmati…I buy it in 10 lb. bags from my local Indian grocer.)
  • About 8 – 10 oz tomato sauce (honestly, I didn’t measure this, I just poured some into the bowl with the meat and rice until I had the consistency I wanted. Just use however much you like depending on if you prefer a saucy mix or a not-so-saucy mix.)
  • Veggies – any kind you like. I recommend diced onions and peppers.
  • Herbs and spices to taste. I used about a 1/4 teaspoon each of onion and garlic powder, a few shakes of salt and pepper, and about 2 teaspoons of Italian seasoning (oregano, basil, parsley, thyme, rosemary if you want to use individual herbs instead of buying the pre-mixed jar.)
  • Cheddar or mozzarella cheese for topping

Preheat your oven to 350ºF. Cook your meat, rice and veggies. Combine in a large mixing bowl. Add the sauce, herbs and spices. Throw in a little cheese too if you like.

Slice off the top of your pepper and remove the guts and seeds.

Grease a casserole dish and place your hollowed peppers inside. Stuff the peppers with your mixture of meat and rice. Top with a little extra sauce and cheese and cover with foil.

Bake for about 30-40 minutes covered, and then uncover so the cheese can melt for an additional 10-15 minutes. Enjoy!

I love this dinner because it’s so easy to prep and customize and everything (protein, starch, veggies) is in a neat little package. Yummy and convenient!


No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

