Skip to content

Question:

August 4, 2010

Who introduced you to something you had never heard before?

He was the only musician who ever lived, who can’t be replaced by someone.” – Bing Crosby

He was born poor, died rich, and never hurt anyone along the way.” – Duke Ellington

He is to music what Einstein is to physics and the Wright Brothers are to travel.” – Ken Burns

No him, no me.” – Miles Davis

Can you guess who these quotes are referring to? His birthday is today, August 4, 1901.

The first time I heard Louis Armstrong, I was enthralled. I loved his gravelly voice and his wailing trumpet. I heard his influence in modern music that I loved at the time: Sublime, Dave Matthews Band, G Love, No Doubt, Maroon 5, Kanye West and more. La Vie En Rose and Dream A Little Dream are two of my favorite songs of all time. But most importantly, discovering him opened me up to a whole new world of music. I sought out Ella Fitzgerald and Billie Holiday, and from there Frank Sinatra and Otis Redding. It was the first time I realized there were areas of music that I liked beyond pop, rap, grunge rock and classic rock, and it kept me interested in searching out music beyond what you hear on the Top 40 stations.

Thanks to Mr. D, who I recently discovered and had all of these amazing quotes listed on his blog!

No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

