Skip to content

#100 – Update My Life List

July 26, 2010

So, I have my list of short-term goals, which started this blog. Two years ago, I was inspired by Mighty Girl and made a Life List. Part of my 101 list is to update it…I think I’ll be updating this list in perpetuity, but here is the old list with edits and the continued list, to keep me motivated!

  1. Create a family tree
  2. Visit major world cities
  3. Visit major U.S. cities
  4. See a moose in the wild
  5. Camp at Yellowstone National Park
  6. Touch/hold a wild(ish) animal
  7. Eat only vegetables I grow for a whole summer
  8. Own a Chanel suit I have no idea why I wanted a Chanel suit. I would now much rather own a Diane von Furstenberg wrap dress or a pair of Christian Louboutins
  9. Eat croissant in Paris
  10. Play a round of golf with my Dad, Uncle and Grandfather Sadly, my uncle passed away unexpectedly in January of last year, so this is no longer possible. But I’d still love to get in a round with my Dad and my Grandfather.
  11. Travel to all 50 states
  12. Learn to whistle with my fingers
  13. Take a road trip across the U.S. – Central and Northern routes
  14. Go on a vacation to an exotic locale and do nothing
  15. Drink a mint julep at the Kentucky Derby
  16. Visit the Galapagos Islands
  17. Take a gondola ride in Venice
  18. Walk the Great Wall of China
  19. Plant a tree
  20. See the Great Pyramids
  21. Attend the Olympic Games
  22. Go on an African safari
  23. Learn a musical instrument
  24. Go dog sledding
  25. Volunteer at a library
  26. Travel to at least 6 of the 7 continents (I have zero interest in Antarctica — I’m not a cold weather person!)
  27. Live – however briefly – in a foreign country I no longer desire to live abroad for some reason. But I’d love to visit many, many countries!
  28. See the aurora borealis
  29. Buy myself a piece of heirloom quality jewelry and pass it on to my first born Yay one I actually completed! I bought myself a diamond necklace for my 25th birthday. If I had known then what I know now about diamonds, I wouldn’t have done it, but it’s too late. And it technically still counts.
  30. Spend a weekend at the Plaza Hotel in NYC

Here begin the additions.

  1. See the new Seven Wonders of the World
  2. Instill a sense of appreciation and respect, if not love, for reading, the outdoors and do-it-yourself-ness in my kids
  3. Learn to be grateful for what I have instead of wishing for what I don’t
  4. Build a treehouse
  5. Keep a journal of things that I want to learn more about and follow through
  6. Attend a film festival
  7. Make holiday decorations reminiscent of those my family had when I was a kid
  8. Read all of the “classics”
  9. Write my will, get life insurance, save money for retirement
  10. Photograph 1,000 faces
  11. Live by an ocean or lake
  12. Ride a roller coaster at every major U.S. theme park
  13. Visit the redwood forest in California
  14. Sponsor a child in a third world country
  15. Host a “travel abroad” student
  16. Learn to make cannoli
  17. Feed a giraffe
  18. Hit a baseball at the batting cages
  19. See bats leaving caves for evening hunting in Montana
  20. Have a library in my house
  21. Visit every major ballpark
  22. Celebrate 1,000 successes
  23. Become an expert in something
  24. Find a passion
  25. Keep track of all the books I read
  26. Start and continue a book and media library of books and movies I loved a child and pass on to my own kids
  27. Make homemade dill pickles
  28. Read all the books I missed as a kid, and not care that they’re meant for children/young adults
  29. Go to Day of the Dead celebrations in Mexico
  30. Vacation at a resort where I can step out of the room and into the water — be it pool or ocean
  31. Attend a show at NYC fashion week
  32. Be a foster parent
  33. Ride through the snow in a sleigh led by horses (or reindeer!)
  34. See the wild ponies on Assateague Island
  35. Have fruit trees that produce edible fruit
  36. Make money something that I DON’T actively worry about every single day
  37. Create a memorial for my Uncle
  38. Provide pet therapy to hospital patients
Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

