Skip to content

#1: Duck Soup (1933)

July 14, 2010

I liked it! I’m familiar with the Marx Brothers, but I had never seen any of their films. I was surprised how funny it still was after all these years. I found Harpo’s scenes a bit annoying, but I think that’s the point of his character. At least to the other characters in the film; I suspect the audience should find his antics hilarious. But I found Groucho’s one-liners and sarcasm to be the most amusing.

I was also surprised at the musical numbers sprinkled throughout, but after doing some reading about the Marx films it seems those are supposed to be part of the joke too. In my reading I discovered that Duck Soup has been referenced by The Three Stooges, Bug Bunny, I Love Lucy (I knew that one!), Gilligan’s Island, Family Guy, The X-Files, Mickey Mouse, Animaniacs and Futurama.

Overall, I enjoyed it. I look forward to checking out a few more Marx Brothers films in the future.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dad permalink
    July 16, 2010 1:58 pm

    Don’t remember all the Marx Brothers films, but Room Service and Night at the Opera come to mind as 2 worth seeing.

Trackbacks

  1. AFI’s 100 Years 100 Movies « All I Wanna Do

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

