Skip to content

101 List #2

April 8, 2013

I can’t believe it, but it’s time to start another 101. Will I improve upon my success rate this time? I think I learned a lot about what I am and am not interested in actually doing from my last list, so I hope this one is more successful, and I’ve already started working on it since I started it April 1. Here are my new 101 in 1001 goals!

Start Date: April 1, 2013  End Date: December 28, 2015

DO

  1. Get a DSLR
  2. Complete seven goals in a week [0/7]
  3. Keep a trip journal on our Disney vacation
  4. Take a Facebook break
  5. Celebrate five random “holidays” like National Sandwich Day [0/5]
  6. Attempt to purge 365 items from our home in a year [113/365]
  7. Complete a 1,000 piece puzzle
  8. Write 101 list-themed blog posts [0/101]
  9. Play Stratego with my husband
  10. Go to church on Christmas Eve
  11. Finalize and get my next tattoo inked
  12. Give yoga another try
  13. Discover 10 new music albums, again [0/10]
  14. Get Bigby trained to always come when he hears a certain command, for emergencies
  15. Get the kitties trained to always come when they hear a certain command, for emergencies
  16. Put together the FEMA recommended 3-day emergency supply [0/37]
  17. Start a journal to write down random memories that come to me
  18. Get a record player

EAT

  1. Make 10 recipes from any of my new cookbooks [1/10]
    – Chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter buttercream frosting from How to Cook Everything
  2. Bake bread from scratch
  3. Make a pie for Pi day
  4. Try five new specialty hot dogs from Danny’s Dogs or Johnny Dogs (or make my own) [0/5]
  5. Discover a new brunch place in the city
  6. Have lunch at Water Works
  7. Eat dinner at Moshulu
  8. Go to a restaurant just for dessert
  9. Get a roast pork sandwich at DiNic’s
  10. Make homemade butter
  11. Ask a server to order for me or order the chef’s tasting menu
  12. Make ice cream from scratch

HOME

  1. Start a new garden
  2. Start an herb garden
  3. Finish living room
  4. Finish library
  5. Finish dining room
  6. Finish guest room
  7. Refurb and hang my type tray
  8. Get new furniture for our bedroom
  9. Organize books by genre
  10. Try out DVDs organized by genre
  11. Buy or build a fire pit
  12. Hang our bat house and birdhouses
  13. Start a compost bin
  14. Fix up the landscaping in the front of the house
  15. Do something to at least improve how I feel when I walk into the hideous upstairs bathroom
  16. Get all the windows in the house some kind of covering (in rooms we use) [0/9]

LEARN

  1. Read The Sandman series by Neil Gaiman
  2. Watch the 12 series Alan Sepinwall deems the most important of the new golden age of TV and then read his book on the subject [2/12]
    – The Sopranos
    -Oz
    -The Wire
    -Deadwood
    -The Shield
    -Lost
    -Buffy the Vampire Slayer
    -24
    -Battlestar Galactica
    -Friday Night Lights
    -Mad Men
    -Breaking Bad
  3. Start training Bigby for the AKC Canine Good Citizen® program
  4. Learn about 10 strong female role models that I know very little about [0/10]
  5. Read ten books from my ‘Want to Read’ Goodreads list [0/10]
  6. Ask five people to recommend a book, read them all [0/5]
  7. Learn five constellations besides Orion [0/5]
  8. Watch Citizen Kane
  9. Fill out the family tree book I bought
  10. Read Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy
  11. Read A Passage to India by E.M. Forster
  12. Learn about five U.S. Presidents that I know very little about [0/5]
  13. Watch some of the TED conferences available on Netflix Instant
  14. Read some chapters from my New York Times Guide to Essential Knowledge

MAKE

  1. Experiment with watercolors
  2. Make a scarecrow
  3. Participate in Delaware Fun-A-Day
  4. Complete 10 Pinterest projects [0/10]
  5. Complete another 365 photo project
  6. Make friendship bracelets with Sabrina
  7. Make a spring or summer wreath
  8. Create chalkboard art for the major holidays [0/9]
    -Valentine’s Day
    -St. Patrick’s Day
    -Easter/Spring
    -Memorial Day/Summer
    -Fourth of July
    -Halloween
    -Thanksgiving
    -Christmas
    -New Year’s
  9. Bury some treasure (and leave a map to it in public)
  10. Make an advent calendar
  11. Paint a picture
  12. Build a snowman

NICE

  1. Leave nice notes for strangers in public places
  2. Send out five ‘just because’ cards [0/5]
  3. Draw a heart in 20 places [0/20]
  4. Bring Christmas cookies to public service offices [0/5]
  5. Foster again
  6. Buy someone a cup of coffee (or tea!)
  7. Buy someone a meal
  8. Pay for the person behind me
  9. Send someone flowers for no reason
  10. Put money in someone’s expired parking meter
  11. Do five free design projects [0/5]
  12. Leave a server a 100% tip

VISIT

  1. Visit the Jewish History Museum in Philadelphia
  2. Tour Shofuso House
  3. Visit Bartram’s Gardens
  4. Take a Mural Tour
  5. See the gingerbread house contestants at Peddler’s Village
  6. Visit a new (to me) baseball stadium
  7. Bring Bigby to a new park for a hike
  8. Do five photo walks [0/5]
  9. Visit a new (to me) winery and do a tasting
  10. Show my husband the awesome-ness of Cowtown
  11. Find and attend a local Native American festival
  12. Visit the Newseum and the National Museum of the American Indian in DC
  13. Check out the Audubon Center at Mill Grove
  14. Visit a city I’ve never been to before
  15. Check out a roller derby bout
  16. Find and document 30 Hidden Mickeys on our trip to WDW [0/30]
  17. Visit the Bronx Zoo
One Comment leave one →
  1. April 8, 2013 11:55 am

    1. I did not know you had a tattoo!
    2. Your chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter frosting were awesome. Just ate another last night – thanks for the leftovers :D
    3. I know it’s a ways away, but if you want to go with us to the Family Mass on Christmas Eve, that would be awesome!
    4. I am shamed at how little I accomplished on my previous 101 list.

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

