Skip to content

Blackberry Buckle

July 15, 2011

I made this recipe from Martha Stewart (using blackberries instead of raspberries, obvs) and I have to say, this is one of the few Martha recipes that I didn’t care for.

Let me clarify. Fresh out of the oven, this was perfection. I ate three pieces in quick succession and longed for more. But I somehow restrained myself and packed it away for the next day. When I served it to the bf for breakfast the following morning, I was so disappointed to discover the cake had become heavy and greasy overnight, nothing like the light and airy confection I’d scarfed down the night before! I’ll probably make this again, but only in a situation where I was serving it to guests immediately and I wouldn’t bother saving the leftovers. Bummer man!

Blackberry Buckle

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 cup (1 stick) unsalted butter, room temperature, plus more for baking dish
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour (spooned and leveled)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 2 containers (1/2 pint each) raspberries (2 3/4 cups)
  • Confectioners’ sugar, for dusting (optional)
  • Whipped cream (optional)

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Butter a 2-quart oval or square baking dish. In a large bowl, cream butter and sugar with an electric mixer until fluffy. Add eggs, one at a time, beating after each addition to combine. In a large bowl, whisk together flour, salt, and baking powder; with mixer on low speed, gradually add flour mixture until incorporated.

Spread batter in baking dish. Scatter raspberries on top. Bake until a toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean and top is golden brown, 45 to 50 minutes. Let cool 20 minutes; dust with confectioners’ sugar, if desired. With a large spoon, scoop out onto serving plates; serve with a dollop of whipped cream, if desired.

Where I differed:

  • I used PAM, not butter to grease my dish.
  • Blackberries instead of raspberries
  • I only made 2/3 of the recipe because I only had two eggs at the time. I still measured exactly, so I don’t believe this had any effect on how the dish turned out.
  • Passed on dusting it with powdered sugar and serving with whipped cream
No comments yet

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

