Skip to content

#9: Guavaberry Rum

July 12, 2010

Saturday evening I was able to try a liquor that my Dad brought back from his trip to St. Maarten, Old Man Guavaberry Brand Wild Guavaberry Island Folk Liquor. That’s quite a mouthful! They have more than a dozen different flavors, including mango, lime and vanilla. You can purchase a limited number of their myriad products online (unfortunately, the link to buy the liquor seems to be broken…the site is a bit odd, the navigation leaves a bit to be desired).

While it was a tad strong for my taste to sip straight, as my dad tells me is the custom, it was delicious in one of the drink recipes included on the side of the bottle:

The Guavaberry Colada
2 oz. Guavaberry Liquor
3 oz. Pineapple Juice
1 oz. Cream of Coconut (I substituted 1 oz. Coconut Rum & 1 oz. Light Cream)
Add to blender with ice and blend.
If you’re ever in St. Maarten, I highly recommend trying this out!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 12, 2010 1:02 pm

    OMG, I had this straight out of the bottle (well, technically I had the vanilla one) during our snorkeling trip in St. Maarten on our honeymoon. It was definitely a tad strong for my taste (I didn’t have a choice how much I got; the captain poured it in my mouth) but I could see how it could be good in a mixed drink.

    • July 12, 2010 1:37 pm

      Yeah there’s only a few liquors I can drink straight, Amaretto and Bailey’s being among them. People who order a whiskey or a vodka on the rocks are amazing to me!

      • July 12, 2010 1:42 pm

        I don’t mind whiskey on the rocks if it’s Southern Comfort, but anything else is too harsh for me. Though I’m pretty sure I won’t have the tolerance for anything straight anymore :)

Trackbacks

  1. 101 in 1001 « All I Wanna Do

Comments Give Puppies Their Cuteness. Think of the Puppies!

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 306 other followers

